top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBethany Calhoon

Stage One: The First Move.

Updated: May 1, 2022





Seven. Thats how many times Nick and I have moved in our 10 years of marriage. So I can confidently add professional mover to my resume. I have everything down to a science, however, moving a family of six to a foreign country is a whole new experience. This has required much more thought than just adding dishes to a box and writing "fragile" (which i believe is an Italian word?) We have to look at everything and think about what is important for us to keep, what we want to throw away, what will be donated and/or worth selling. I would like to say that this process has been all smiles but to be honest many days are filled with tears. Not of regret, but with the God-given emotion of sadness. I have to sell furniture that I once rocked my children to sleep in, donate dishes that I once served meals to others on. Its been hard but if I could sum my feelings up in one simple phrase it is Joyful But Overwhelming. I have had so much joy knowing that I am following Christ's will for my life while being completely overwhelmed with having to do so much preparation for my family to move and transition well to Nicaragua. I truly can relate to the man Jesus talked about in the Parable of the Hidden Treasure, "The Kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field." Matthew 13:44.


Knowing that I have eternity with King Jesus is worth far more than any sacrifice of selling my worthless home decor. And it is with joy that I sell it to follow Christ's will for my life and I want others to also share in this joy and mostly share in worshipping Jesus in eternity with them.




Goodbye to the yellow house on 10th.

As of right now our house has been sold and the Lord made that extremely stress-free. Our friends are buying it and will make beautiful memories in the house we have grown to love deeply. We moved out March 1st and will be living in a lake house completely rent-free for the next few months.The Lord graciously laid it on someones heart to allow our family to rest in their vacation home before we make our final move on May 24th. I am in awe of this family I have never met and it is proof that God has the ultimate hand in this process because every door has been opened before us and we have walked through it without any doubt that the next one will open.



280 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page