top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBethany Calhoon

Preparing the Table

Updated: Mar 9, 2022

Coming up with a title/theme was a lot harder then I expected because I am not that creative nor did I want to make it just about my family but rather about God and how he is using us for His glory as He called us to be missionaries in Nicaragua.

Most people who know me know that I love my table. Not because its expensive or perfectly decorated, because its definitely not, I purchased it used for $100 and currently the only thing on it is some left over rice from lunch, a hairbrush and a half cup of lukewarm water. I love my table because of the people who dwell at it. The table (in my opinion) is where the family spends most of their time together, its where food, laughter and conversations are shared. My table is also a place that I love for others to come over and be served. I love hosting college students, church family members and anyone who could use a home cooked meal and a fresh chocolate chip cookie. This table has held gospel-centered conversations, tears of sorrows, belly laughs and countless card game competitions.


But the main reason I titled it Preparing the Table is based from my favorite passage of scripture.


Psalms 23.


The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures.

He leads me beside still waters.

He restores my soul.

He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name's sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,

for you are with me;

your rod and staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;

you anoint my head with oil;

my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,

and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.


David the writer of this hymn is rejoicing in the Lord's care of His people. He uses the imagery of how a shepherd cares of his sheep (vs 1-4) and how the Lord as Host delights in his guest (vs. 5-6). In verse 5 you see that the Lord is preparing a table, this is another way of showing that the Lord is hosting a feast for the believing person in the presence of his enemies to show that despite the previous sins or the short-comings of the guest of honor the Lord loves him and anoints him with oil to claim him as His own and that he will dwell in the house of the Lord forever. All those who believe will have a place at the table of God and as redeemed people we are to go and share in this blessing with all who will hear, repent and believe in the gospel because God is preparing the table for them as well and we must GO and gather them.



enjoy this unedited photo of my children at our table. feat. homemade cinnamon rolls.


263 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page